something simple I learnt this week 4

This is another ‘learnt from my own children’ simple thing …

I came home this evening and asked my son how is maths lesson went and if had asked his teacher that question about how to work out the area of a circle. He said he had and that his teacher had told him “we are going to do it in a lesson soon.”

I asked him “Do you want me teach it to you now, so that you can be ahead of the others?”

He replied “No I want to be the same as everyone else.”

So the simple thing is that not all children want to be better than others. Which I guess is like adults too. ( see my previous post about striving for an outstanding OFSTED grade for a start).

This is not necessarily a bad thing. There are other things in life than striving to get the highest mark in class.

Leave a Reply

